On their 10th anniversary in November, Gorillaz, the first ever and most successful  virtual bend in world will announce the 15-track ‘The Singles Collection: 2001-2011’. As befits to one the greatest bend in the UK, Gorillaz will release their Collection on CD, CD and DVD, vinyl and a special edition seven-inch box set.

After more than ten year of fantastic work, three studio albums, and over 13 million sold copies, they have split. And just a day after that announcement, the Gorillaz character and bass Murdoc tweeted this rumour by saying: “Gorillaz are TEN. Ten years old, eh? T.E.N. What’s that stand for? The End is Nigh…!” Not much after that the another message hinted at the band’s plans to release the best-of: “Something special has just floated up on my island. A small toy trumpet to herald a big announcement. Think I’ll be blowing that tomorrow.”

They were founded in 1998 by the former songwriter, singer, and record producer of Britpop, and Blur, Damon Albarn and animator Jamie Hewlett. They made the real boom in 2001, by releasing debut album eponymous which is soldin over seven million copies, and featured hits such as the songs “19-2000” and “Clint Eastwood”. This early success took its own, and they fell apart, but the guitar player Noodle saved them and put them back together. This was a turnover, the band back together for the release of second album Demon Days in 2005 and a run of groundbreaking animated live shows at Manchester International Festival and Harlem’s Apollo Theatre. With the singles such as Feel good inc,Dirty Harry, Dare, Kids with Guns/El Mañana, and many more they won everyone who had any doubts by then. In early 2010 Gorillaz delighted again – this time from an island in the South Pacific with the album Plastic Beach. With their single Stylo and legendary Bruce Willis featrung in video by chasing the outlaw Gorillaz bend, they started a magnificent tour with all their musicians who have worked with them even The Clash’s Paul Simonon and Mick Jones.

On that tour was the actual bend, and all the others who need to be there to perform their parts of songs. Those are really envious artists collaborating such as Dangermouse, Del Tha Funkee Homosapien, De La Soul, Kano, Bobby Womack, Ike Turner, Lou Reed, Mark E Smith, Bootie Brown, Little Dragon, Snoop Dogg, Dan The Automator, Mos Def, D12, MF Doom and Shaun Ryder across their career.

Gorillaz has won the numerous number of awards such as MTV Music Awards, Brit, GQ, NME, Grammy and an Ivor Novello, Gorillaz were nominated for four CAD awards and took home the coveted Webby Award for Artist of The Year 2006, plus the Jim Henson Award for Creativity. In 2006 Jamie Hewlett was awarded Designer of the Year for his work on Gorillaz; four years later the band graced the cover of tech bible Wired Magazine.

The tracklisting for ‘The Singles Collection: 2001-2011’ is as follows:

‘Tomorrow Comes Today’
‘Clint Eastwood’
‘Rock The House’
‘Feel Good Inc’
‘Dirty Harry’
‘Kids With Guns’
‘El Manana’
‘Superfast Jellyfish’
‘On Melancholy Hill’
‘Clint Eastwood’ (Ed Case & Sweetie Irie Refix)
’19-2000′ (Soulchild Remix)